Fine Arts Department

To see the artwork in its entirety, sorted by school, please visit:

Fine Arts Student Showcase - Spring 2020

  The mission of the NBPS Fine Arts Department, which encompasses both the visual and performing arts, is to educate our students both in and through the arts.  The department offers a sequential curriculum for the acquisition of arts skills, arts integration experiences, both in and out of school opportunities, and recognition for student achievement.

  The Every Student Succeed Act includes the arts alongside math and language arts in its definition of a “well-rounded education.” Arts education is recognized as a unique learning modality where students can exercise creativity, work both independently and collaboratively, and take pride and ownership of their learning through a hands-on, multi-sensory approach. The arts are also as a vital part of a holistic education and there is a growing body of research that shows a strong correlation between arts learning and increased learning in other subjects such as math or reading.

  Furthermore, learning in and through the arts prepares our children to be vital members of the 21stcentury workforce not only as artists and musicians but more importantly as thinkers, team members and individuals who are as dedicated as they are passionate.

Fine Arts Teachers

Elementary Music
Kelsey Andre – DeValles
Lindsey Augustine –  Pulaski
Christian Camarao –  Hathaway, Winslow
Edward DeArruda – Lincoln, Campbell, Brooks
Nathanial Karahalis – Hayden-McFadden, Ashley, DeValles
Susan Kulju – Brooks, Rodman
Amy McMahon – Congdon
Reis Medeiros –  Gomes
Rebekah McLaughlin – Jacobs
Sara Mello –  Carney, Gomes, Brooks
Jennifer Murphy – Taylor, Jacobs, Rodman
Jacob O’Brien – Carney
Raquel Pampa – Pacheco
Jessica Pereira – Lincoln
Tyrell Pina –  Parker
Michael Rayner – Pulaski, Swift
Hannah Reis –  Campbell, Swift
Laura Schulz –  Hayden-McFadden 

Mahria Trepes – Ashley, Winslow

Elementary Art
Melissa Aviles – Gomes
Tara Catojo  Lincoln
Jennifer Cosentino – Carney
Stephanie Couto – Pulaski
Erin Eisan - Jacobs
Robert Higginbotham – Pacheco
Rachel Howell – Taylor, Winslow
- Congdon
Erika Linehan – Parker

Cathryn Lonsdale –DeValles
Rocky Raxter – Brooks, Rodman
Amanda Signorino - Ashley, Hathaway
Kate Vannata – Hayden-McFadden 
Molly Zakarian - Campbell, Swift

Elementary Dance
 – Pulaski 

Elementary Theatre

Marissa Stanley – Pulaski 

Middle School Music
Colby DeWitt – Keith
Lee Dias – Keith 
LaDarrius Smothers – Keith
Jared Cordell – Normandin
Stefanie LaFontaine – Normandin
Nicole Sousa  Normandin
Michael Kelly  Roosevelt
Daniel Peirce – Roosevelt

Middle School Art
Aleisea Guzman  Keith
Erin Meade – Keith
Danielle Garcia – Keith
Amy Wilcox  Keith
Veronica Cabral  Normandin
Erin Collins  Normandin
Chloe Bachstein  Normandin
Matthew Carreiro  Roosevelt

Olivia Wallett – Roosevelt

Middle School Theatre

Tal Kaplan  Roosevelt
Olivia Marques – Normandin

Middle School Dance
Elizbeth Fournier - Normandin

NBHS Performing Arts 
Stephanie Donnelly  Theatre
Joshua Quackenbush  Theatre
Lynne-Marie Dandeneau – Music
Yamiel Garcia Suarez – Music
Timothy Mason – Music
Matthew Pacheco – Music
Thomas O'Leary - Music

High School Art
Alanna Boucher – NBHS
Lynne LaBerge-Nelson – NBHS 
Matthew Poyant – NBHS
Rosannette Rivera – NBHS
Kimberly Souza - NBHS
Yoxanderi Mateo - NBHS
Mark Carvalho – Whaling City, Trinity


Lynn Souza
508-997-4511 Ext. 14104
Fax# 508-910-0713
[email protected]
Faces of New Bedford Video

Teaching & Learning Specialist 
Sarah Cadieux Pacheco
508-997-4511 Ext.14114
[email protected]

Lynne Butcher
508-997-4511 Ext. 14151
[email protected]

Upcoming events: 

KMS Drama Club Presents: 
"Silent, But Deadly"